The Wh0le Story

Eat Good Stuff. Do Good Things. Feel good feels.

Treat Yo’self (Right): why you shouldn’t be afraid to switch it up!

Leave a comment

Note: This is just my experience with fitness and self-care. There are plenty of people out there that push their body to incredible limits on a regular basis and do it without injury or strain. Again, this is just my opinion…

First and foremost, you need to stop calling it “exercise” and start thinking about your regular activities as just that….activities. You are a human being that was built to move. Why not stay active and consider whatever way you choose to do so as an interest or hobby? Doesn’t that sound a lot more enjoyable? I think so.

Now that we’ve got that out of the way, let’s talk about switching up your routine and listening to your inner dialogue.

IMG_4823

Sometimes my body craves a challenge. I love pushing myself (safely) and seeing the improvements that come from doing so, i.e. lifting a heavier weight, doing one more push-up, holding a plank for an extra 30 seconds, etc. Our bodies are pretty fantastic and seeing it transform is kind of the best feeling ever. When I’m in this mode, I feel like a full-on superhero.

But then something flips in my brain and all of a sudden, I want nothing less than to continue to beat up my body (again, safely). And instead of pushing myself to the point of despising my next workout, I cut myself some slack instead. Sometimes that means taking an active rest day and just enjoying a nice walk or hike. Fresh air cures everything.

My favorite hiking buddy.

My favorite hiking buddy.

Other times? Yoga fixes me right up.

For me, yoga always brings me back to a place of peace and positivity when it comes to taking care of my body. Moving with intention keeps me present during my practice and also reminds me of the reasons why I love staying active in the first place. It doesn’t matter if it’s an intense flow or something more spiritual – I adore it all and so does my mind and body.

shutterstock-yoga

So what’s the takeaway? Take care of yourself. If something hurts, don’t push it. Listen to your body and do what feels right. If you take it easy or switch up your routine for a little while, the world won’t end. Every single time you move your body, you’re doing something great for yourself. When you think about it that way, you can do no wrong – the pressure’s off! Pretty awesome, right?

Be kind and patient and respectful to that vessel of yours. Remember that and the rest will fall into place.

Author: thewh0lestory

Hi all. I'm Vanessa. I am currently residing in the beautiful Pacific Northwest with my boyfriend and my super mutt pup, but my heart will always belong to the Great Midwest. I started this blog as a way to share my passions with like-minded people. Food and nutrition, fitness, fashion, art and animal welfare are just a few of my favorite things. I love to cook and am always looking for a way to make my meals as inspiring as possible. I'd love to share some recipes, some anecdotes and maybe even some pretty things in the way of fashion and design. I know it seems a little scatter-brained, but I hope you enjoy my notes and ramblings. The Wh0le Story comes from a desire to start living the life I want, full of more good stuff. It's that simple.

Share your thoughts